Posh Nosh Chocolate Fudge sauce review!

Many girls get excited when they go to malls. Their hearts race when they’re walking along rows of shows in the colours of the rainbow. They sigh in ecstasy as they stand before racks of jewllery, hanging daintily in the pale yellow light of the store. A happy smile plays upon their lips as they triumphantly grasp their shopping bags in their fingers, a bedazzling necklace, an elegant scarf or a timeless dress nestled inside of it.

Me?

I feel the same way at supermarkets.

A smile automatically finds its ways to my lips as I step through the glass doors, welcomed by the air conditioning. I sigh in joy as I stand before rows and rows of brightly coloured fruit juices, promising to back your health up in no time. I need to suppress a gleeful giggle as I walk past the rows of potato chips in different shapes and sizes. My eyes light up as I look at all the different chocolates, just waiting for me to grab them and put them in my basket.

I’ve always been the kind of person who believes that food is nothing short of magical.

So one day, I was idyllically standing in front of the open fridge at Nilgiris, contemplating on buying a block of blue cheese and some sour cream when I met her for the first time.

There she was, between happy cow cheese and a jar of Mayo. That’s when I first met…

She was so beautiful

I picked up the intriguing looking dark jar and I turned it over, trying to know more. Turns out it was by an Indian entrepreneur and was actually marginally cheaper than Nutella. It was founded by Aditi Gupta, a foodie who studied in Britain. She came back to India and realised that the foriegn ingredients you get here are not only expensive, but they’re also full of preservatives! (*GASP!*).

So that’s when Posh Nosh foods was born(In early 2014). She swears that the ingredients are preservatives free and the sauces she makes are a 100% vegetarian. That’s great. So far, so good.

It took quite a bit of effort to crack open the jar and we had to try all sorts of crazy tactics that included inverting the jar upside down in a vessel of hot water. (I was personally just happy that the jar didn’t crack)

It was so good looking that I couldn’t resist taking a swipe at the lid and I was astounded by how amazing it tasted. It had the same consistency as a bar of fully melted dark chocolate and tasted just as good. The flavour played out easily on my tongue, just the right blend of sweet and bitter.
It was nearly dinnertime and I was super excited to try this new spread on some toast.
Yes. I most definitely licked the spoon clean.

So I was all riled up to try the new spread on some goddamn delicious brown wheat bread. I took one bite and stopped short. Something was definitely not right. I took another and my tongue got thoroughly confused with what was going on. The toast on the surface tasted sweet because of the spread, but it tasted… odd otherwise.

Something’s not right…
I suddenly remembered something my mother had told me. That my cousin’s friend who is a chef, runs a cafe nearby had sent over some whole wheat bread and masala rye bread. I asked mom which of the two it was and she shrugged and replied that it was one of the two and that she didn’t check which one it was. A few more bites of my toast left spicy notes at the back of my mouth and I realised my mistake.
When you facepalm so hard your glasses disappear.

But then again, I am a foodie! I am resillient and I was not ready to give up so easily. So after finishing dinner, I decided to try something a little safer.

That is a generous helping of the chocolate fudge spread on a Marie biscuit.
Now, I had a chance to properly try out the amazingness that is the chocolate fudge sauce. At first, the chocolaty taste takes over your mouth. A more slow, lingering taste reveals a deeper, richer flavour that is characteristic of the pure cocoa that it says it has. It tasted to me, like a blend of two very familiar flavours- that of Diary milk and Amul dark chocolate but there was a third flavour that I couldn’t quite place my finger on and that’s what makes me love it so much. It’s consistency at room temperature is slightly thick, just like a freshly melted bar of chocolate and has a bitter, chocolaty scent to it.
I like it because in my opinion, this one gives Nutella a run for its money. Some people complain that Nutella is too sweet and this is just perfect for people who feel that way. I like the packaging as well because it is quite sturdy and though it was glass, it wasn’t the least bit slippery (Which is great for someone like me because I tend to be a bit of a butterfingers). I liked the fact this is also supposed to be just as versatile. You can use it on toast, on ice cream, as icing on cake… The possibilities are endless.
Oh and also, I’ve tried a jar of Hershey’s hot fudge sauce once. I love Hersheys and everything but this is SO not the same. This is way way better. So go ahead, give an Indian entrepreneur some ‘brownie’ points for trying and splurge on this jar of Chocolate fudge sauce. If you like anything remotely chocolatey and… well, fudgey, you won’t regret this.
Rating: 4.5/5.
Leave a Reply

